The New York Flora Atlas

I just discovered the most fantastic website, and I wanted to share it with all of you! The New York Flora Atlas is a source of information for the distribution of plants within the state of New York! It provides useful information on plant habitats, associated ecological communities, and taxonomy. Additionally, users can discover the locations of vouchered specimens and view photos of the plants!

The website plans to create a manual in the near future, but until then, I believe users will be quite satisfied about what is provided on the website!

You can:

Select a county of interest and click:

NY

Say you choose Chautauqua county…

It opens up to a list of plants in the area! This list includes the plant’s scientific name, common name, family, whether it’s native to the area or not, a photo, and a comparison box!

NY2

For example, if I wanted to see a photo of the Abies Balsamea, or balsam fir, I could click on the picture icon at the end of the row and see it! 

NY3

Anyway, that was my fantastic discovery for the week. I hope that all you New York gardeners and plant enthusiasts find it amusing and enjoyable as I have!

About Alex Holt

I am a local artist from Brooklyn, NY. I love art, design, books, photography, gardening and blogging.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

