New Contributing Writer- Devon Johnson

Hello Blogging world and online readers, my name is Devon Johnson.  Born and raised in Brooklyn NY, I’m a 31 year old inspiring blogger and social media guy, currently a  seasonal employee with New York City Housing Authority (NYCHA).

My Department is Resident Economic and Sustainability, (REES). What we do, in short,  is help Residents of NYCHA gain economic sustainability by assisting them with work, business and educational opportunities so they can support themselves and their family. Check out PlanNYHCA for more details on just what we do.

So how did I get my position, you ask? I volunteered, working nearly three months for no wages.  It eventually paid off- earning me a seasonal position with NYCHA. You see I love NYCHA.  Not only do I work for the company but I was raised in a NYCHA development: Marcy Projects (and yes I met Jay-Z, LOL).

I will be writing blog posts about various topics that relate to NYC in general, manly focusing on Arts, and Green culture I will try my best to write about topics that interest you and possibly make you smile. We are currently working on a REES micro-site to let residents stay up-to-date on what’s happening.For now you can check out NYCHA’s Twitter or its Facebook page to see what we’re up to.

Hope to be hearing from you guys once and a while and that this blog will help build our relationship with each other!

 

About Alex Holt

I am a local artist from Brooklyn, NY. I love art, design, books, photography, gardening and blogging.
This entry was posted in NYCHA Gardens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Contributing Writer- Devon Johnson

  1. Pingback: The Daffodil project | Urban Gardens NYC

  2. Pingback: GROW TO LEARN: The Citywide School Gardens Initiative | Urban Gardens NYC

  3. Pingback: GreenThumb | Urban Gardens NYC

  4. Pingback: 7 Location Ideas for Apartment and Urban Gardening | Urban Gardens NYC

  5. Pingback: An inexpensive way to make a Self-watering Planter | Urban Gardens NYC

  6. Pingback: How to create a self-watering planter from scratch | Urban Gardens NYC

Leave a Reply

