GROW TO LEARN: The Citywide School Gardens Initiative

By Devon Johnson, Contributing Writer

Devon Johnson is a new contributing writer for Urban Gardens NYC.  Devon grew up in Brooklyn in NYCHA’s Marcy Development, and is one of our New York based writers. Read his introductory post here.

Citywide School Gardens Initiative

OMGarsh, I LOVE THIS initiative!!! I love seeing kids like the one in the picture above do wonderful things in life.  As their website puts it, “the Citywide School Garden Initiative was established in 2010 as a public-private partnership between the Mayor’s Fund, GrowNYC, and several government agency partners. The Mayor’s FundGrowNYC, NYC Department of Parks and Recreation’s Green thumb Division and Department of Education’s Office of SchoolFood manage day-to-day operations, providing  strategic coordinating, fundraising, management, training and promotion of the Citywide Initiative efforts throughout New York City”.

Studies show that positive eating habits begun before the 6th grade are more likely to last into adulthood, Interesting,  Mayor Bloomburg said “the program will help schools create or connect with local gardens where children can learn where their food comes from and develop an appreciation for the environment, all while getting some fresh air and exercise. We’ll make our urban landscapes more beautiful, enhance our school curricula, and help young people enjoy the lifelong benefits of physical fitness and a good diet.“  Hmmmm, I wonder why I’m hooked on mcdonalds, SMH at me! I’m changing though, seriously I am! I recently started juicing, you know, getting my kale, lemon, romaine, apple, cucumber, pasley ginger, and spinach. Mix on- but I admit I hate the mess I create and having to clean up that dreadful juicer…. uuuuugh but the bright side is I feel GREAT!

Ok I’m bosting about me, LOL. The initiative isn’t limited to just schools, if you have a community garden you can register. When you register, you will also be connected to all the other gardens in the city, possibly featured in a Success Stories section and become a part of the growing School and  Garden Community. Follow this link to the registration page. By filling out one, easy on-line form, you’ll do three important things:


1) Register with Grow to Learn NYC.
2) Apply for a Grow to Learn NYC Mini-Grant.
3) Become eligible for GreenThumb materials and assistance

What are you waiting for?

About Alex Holt

I am a local artist from Brooklyn, NY. I love art, design, books, photography, gardening and blogging.
This entry was posted in Community Gardens, Contributing Writer, Urban Farming and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

