7 Location Ideas for Apartment and Urban Gardening

By Devon Johnson, Contributing Writer

Devon Johnson is a new contributing writer for Urban Gardens NYC.  Devon grew up in Brooklyn in NYCHA’s Marcy Development, and is one of our New York based writers. Read his introductory post here.

Hey guys I hope the year is bringing you in all the blessings you deserve. The other day I was engaged in intriguing conversation with one of my co-workers at NYCHA we were talking about growing veggies aka vegetables.

I mentioned that I would love to do it but really can’t because I live in a apartment with no yard access, although NYCHA lets residents start community gardens in the community they reside, I live on a very high floor and I would love the privilege to see my garden grow from my window so I’d just rather not grow anything outside, at this time anyway.

But Sheila Hewitt, my co-worker informed me that I don’t have to have a yard with grass, that I can grow certain vegetables indoors like tomato’s, squash and peppers. This blew my mind! So I said let me do some further research on this, low and behold, many people are doing this.

If you follow the https://urbangardensnyc.wordpress.com blog two of my fellow bloggers wrote articles on rooftop gardening and homemade greenhouses this is actually really similar to gardening in your apartment, because “rooftop gardening” is actually considered “apartment gardening”.

Unfortunately (but fortunate) for me, I live in New York City Housing Authority and the law prohibits residents or anybody for that matter to be on the roof but hey I can always garden on the front grass and my apartment. I can smell the fresh air in my apartment now!

Below are some tips from MIKE LIEBERMAN a veteran indoor gardening guy.

Mike Liberman

 

 

▪   Fire escape. You can fit a few containers on the landing, but be sure to leave plenty of space for a footpath.

 

▪   Hand rails. Use the fire escape to hang soda bottle planters filled with mint, oregano, lettuces and more.

 

▪   Balcony or patio. You can haves several containers out there, lined up nicely on both sides allowing for a walkway down the middle.

 

▪   Walls. There are plenty of vertical garden planters out there right now. The thing with most of them is that you need to secure them to the walls, which might be an issue for some renters or landlords.

 

▪   Windowsill boxes. These are great to grow shallow rooted herbs and vegetables. Like the vertical planters they do need to be secured to the structure.

 

▪   Front, backyard or roof. If you are on a lower level, this might be all you have. If you are renting, it’s unlikely that your landlord will allow you to rip up the lawn to start your garden. They might allow you to put some containers out there though.

 

▪   Along the side of the building. This is usually dead space that isn’t visible from anywhere and not being used. It is worth inquiring to find out if you can put containers out there to start your garden.

 

Check out his 2 Minute Video 7 Location Idea’s for Apartment and Urban Gardens and oooooh yeah before I forget, my co-worker Ms. Hewitt is going to help me start my first indoor tomato plant. Pictures will be posted shorty, if I forget to post them feel free to email or comment on this blog post and say, Hey Devon, where is my freaking pictures? Enjoy!!

About Alex Holt

I am a local artist from Brooklyn, NY. I love art, design, books, photography, gardening and blogging.
This entry was posted in Contributing Writer, NYCHA Gardens, Small Spaces, tips, Urban Farming and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

