An inexpensive way to make a Self-watering Planter

By Devon Johnson, Contributing Writer

Devon Johnson is a new contributing writer for Urban Gardens NYC.  Devon grew up in Brooklyn in NYCHA’s Marcy Development, and is one of our New York based writers. Read his introductory post here.

self-watering planter

 

Hey Gang, my last entry was about apartment gardening, I hope you enjoyed it. Since I opened your eyes on apartment gardening I figure I’d elaborate on self-watering planters.

The great beneficial thing about creating a self-watered container is that it’s very CHEAP to produce. Because the items you will use can probably be found in and around your community, you even may have a half used bottle o soda near you that you can use (after you finish drinking it) or a empty bucket around your apartment, garden or garage, if you have one!

I know I can find a soda bottle damn near anywhere. I actually ran across a few container bins in my neighborhood literally outside someone’s stoop with a sign saying something like take me, I’m FREE. Funny thing is, is that when you look for one you will never find it, so don’t look let the container find you! LOL. Using other disposable recycled materials will make them even more inexpensive to create.

Self-watering containers make growing fruits and veggies a breeze and are ideal for gardening in small spaces. Construct your own reliable water’er with a few easily scavenged materials and about an hour’s worth of time. The problem with growing food in pots is that pots dry out quickly and it’s all too easy to forget to water the lovely slowly dying plant. Check out this cool link I found on YouTube on “How to make a self-watering container for the balcony. This one is quick, simple and low cost ($5).” And I have to say this was like one of the best ones I seen…. “Balconygrow” you ROCK! Next week I’ll give you a little step-by-step tutorial on creating a self–watering plant.

About Alex Holt

I am a local artist from Brooklyn, NY. I love art, design, books, photography, gardening and blogging.
This entry was posted in Contributing Writer, Small Spaces, tips, Urban Farming and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

